Spider’s Lament

Why does the Butterfly

On gauzed wings

Seem so beautiful to all?

As for me, I have no high dreams

Of fame, glory, beauty

I have pride enough

In my elegant eight legs,

My lace web jeweled with dew,

The pride of ensnaring a

Villainous, yet delicious

Streaked wasp.

All I ask is for all

Not

To scream

Glare

Attempt murder at me.

‘Tis all I ask.

Praise the butterfly.

She will be next

In my dewed web.

 

One thought on “Spider’s Lament

  1. Pat says:

    This is soooo amazing. The spider poem puts Billy Collins to shame. WOW. Thanks

Thoughts About My Post

