Singing, Stress, and Spirit (and maybe some Latin)

Two of which are wonderful, one of which is not. 

Today at school, the entire high school chorus convenierunt (Latin for “they came together” – I’m starting to think in an ancient language, no joke) to sing our songs for the upcoming Christmas concert. Usually we are in two groups – the ninth and tenth grades have music together, same with the juniors and seniors – but today was the first day we actually sang as a whole group. It sounded glorious, heavenly, angelic – mainly due to the incredible musical talents of the juniors and seniors. I guess we little fresh(wo)men and sophomores need to work on our pipes. 

Still, it was so much fun. We, the small group of fresh(wo)men soprano ones, clumped together, sang our little hearts out, and effectively botched the high notes. Together. 

Stress: the major theme of school right now. As vacation is in roughly FOURTEEN AND A HALF DAYS, we are entering crunch time for schoolwork. Namely, a Biology research paper, a Literature essay, a Math test, a US History test, a Biology quiz, and tons and tons and tons of bone-crushing homework. (Actually, we finished the bio paper, but I thought I’d add it because a) we don’t have our grades back yet and b) it makes my workload seem much more formidable) Add on top of that numerous A Capella gigs/rehearsals, Handbell Choir rehearsals, swim practice and meets, physical therapy, and supposedly newspaper and literary club, but I honestly don’t have time for either right now. Hopefully everything will come to an abrupt STOP once vacation starts, or at least calm down a bit. I’ve been thoroughly sleep-deprived these last couple of days. Ah, the wonderful Montrose life. Gotta love it. 🙂

And about SPIRIT: CHRISTMASTIME AT MONTROSE HAS OFFICIALLY BEGUN!!!!!!!!!!!! If you do not realize the importance of this message, let me fill you in: Decorated rooms, decorated poles in the cafeteria, cookie decorating, decorated foyer, inter-school Secret Santa, Advent wreath at Mass, class skits, the traditional Grinch movie-watching, Christmas concert music in Chorus, and Montrosians literally decking the halls with boughs of holly (falalalalalalalala). ‘Tis really the moooost wonderful tiiiiiiiime / of the yearrrrrrrr. Montrose is truly the place to be for holiday-prepping. 

And about that Latin… I’m going to Classics Day for the JCL (Junior Classical League) at BU tomorrow, where we will skip a day of school (with the Latin teacher’s consent, of course) to attend lectures about such things as mythology, architecture, culture, wars, monsters, etc. Basically, it’s what “classy” (pun intended :P) people do. It heightens one’s state of class to such classy means that they become too cool for classes and have to attend lectures to learn about the Classical Ages. While listening to Classical music, because that too is exceedingly classy. 

Pardon the deviation. I think I used just about every possible definition of “class,” including an overlap. Please comment if I missed a meaning. And yes, I am aware that a lecture is indeed a form of a class. I had no other use for such a meaning. 

Aaaaaaaaaaaaannnnnnnnnddddd this talk of Latin has just reminded me that I STILL HAVE  AN ASTOUNDINGLY APPALLING AMOUNT OF LATIN HOMEWORK LEFT. Sigh… off to work! I must be well-versed in Latin before I attend any classy Classical classes (hopefully with Classical music for a state of maximum class) tomorrow!!! 

 

 

Image

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Singing, Stress, and Spirit (and maybe some Latin)

  1. abbles says:

    Truth, truth, truth….basically all truth. We’re all always sick at the same time. And there’s too much homework. And Christmas…..too lovely for words. Have fun on classics day! I wish I was going. 😦

  2. abbles says:

    And by the way, if you read a post I wrote sometime around last June, I started writing in Latin too. 🙂

Thoughts About My Post

